Management Committees

Cases Committees

The Cases Committees provide medical input and advice to assist with the claims management process:

  • Cases Committee (Western/Central) – for claims occurring in South Australia, the Northern Territory and Western Australia.
  • Cases Committee (Eastern) – for claims occurring in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Tasmania, Victoria and Queensland.


Eastern Cases Committee Members
Western Cases Committee Members

A/Prof Michael Hollands (Chair)
Dr Richard Barnett
A/Prof Anna Holdgate
Dr Marisa Magiros
Prof Frank Martin
Dr Martin McGee-Collett
Dr Stephen Quain
Dr Nigel Symons
Dr Genevieve Yates

Dr Andrew Miller (Chair)
A/Prof Max Baumwol
A/Prof Rosanna Capolingua
Dr Michael Gannon
Clinical Prof Guy van Hazel
A/Prof Gerard Hardisty
Dr Brendan Adler
Dr Peter Silbert
Dr Greogry Makin


Clinical Underwriting Committee

The Clinical Underwriting Committee provides advice to management on risk assessment criteria, emerging trends in medicine, policy development, risk categorisation, pricing approach, and high-risk Member management.

Clinical Underwriting Committee members:

  • Dr David Gilpin (Chair)
  • Dr Andrew Perry
  • Dr Michael Gannon 
  • Dr Natalie Sumich
  • Dr Lily Vrtik
  • Dr Genevieve Yates


Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Committee

The CSR Committee upholds MDA National’s responsibilities as a corporate citizen, and aims to:

  • support the mental health of medical practitioners and students
  • ensure doctors are supported in caring for patients with mental health issues
  • promote understanding and compassion within the medical community, starting with our own organisation
  • provide opportunities for MDA National to support a range of approved charitable activities.