Insurance Board

Insurance Board Members Profiles:

Mr Scudamore joined MDA National’s Insurance Board in July 2012 and was appointed Chairman of the Insurance Board on 11 October 2014. He was appointed to the Mutual Board in November 2013. He is a member of MDAN Group’s Audit Committee, Risk Committee and Capital Committee and is Chair of the Nominations & Remuneration Committee.


Mr Scudamore has more than  40 years work experience, 28 of which have been as a partner of KPMG providing advisory services and, earlier in his career, audit services to companies in a variety of industries including energy and natural resources, financial services and government clients.


Mr Scudamore is a Director of Pilbara Minerals, Regis Resources and Australis Oil and Gas. He is also Vice Chair and a Trustee of the Western Australia Museum. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and a Senior Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australia. In February 2021, Curtin University conferred upon him an Honorary Doctorate of the University. 


Mr Agnew was appointed to the Insurance Board in April 2015. He has been a member of the MDAN Group’s Capital Committee since August 2015 and was appointed as the Chair in November 2016. He is also a member of the Nominations & Remuneration Committee. Mr Agnew was the Group CEO of RAC (Western Australia) until March 2019 and was previously Managing Director of SGIC Holdings Ltd, a general insurance and health insurance organisation in South Australia. 


Mr Terry Agnew is a highly experienced CEO and non-executive director. He has worked across a range of industries including insurance, financial services, travel and tourism, education, disability and care and membership organisations.


Mr Agnew is the current Chair of the Business Council of Cooperatives and Mutuals and Chair of Edge Employment Solutions (a disability employment service). He is also a Director of RAA Insurance, HCF and Infrastructure WA, and was a Founding Member of CEOs for Gender Equity. He is member of the Curtin University Council and also the Chair of the Kalgoorlie Campus Council which includes the Western Australian School of Mines. Additionally, he Chairs the Expert Advisory Panel of the AAA Road Safety Research Program and is on the Advisory Board of Future Green Solutions.


Mr Agnew is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management, Senior Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australia (Finsia) and Member of the Australian Institute of Engineers.


Mr Agnew was educated in Adelaide, Perth and Boston and his qualifications include MBA, M.Sc., B.E. (Hons) and the Harvard AMP.  He is an Honorary Doctor of Curtin University.

Dr Gannon was appointed to the Insurance Board in November 2020. 

Dr Gannon is an Obstetrician & Gynaecologist in private and public practice in Perth. He is Head of Department, Obstetrics & Gynaecology at St John of God Subiaco Hospital.

Dr Gannon also works in the Perinatal Loss Service at King Edward Memorial Hospital (KEMH) and is the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RANZCOG) representative on the WA Perinatal and Infant Mortality Committee. He is interested in medical problems in pregnancy, high risk pregnancy and stillbirth prevention.

Dr Gannon is a member of the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) and the Board of the Australian Medical Association (AMA) in WA.  He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (FAICD).

Dr Gannon graduated from the University of Western Australia, before training at Royal Perth Hospital, KEMH, the Rotunda Hospital Dublin and St Mary’s Hospital London.

Dr Gannon was Federal President of the AMA from 2016 to 2018, during which time he made direct representations on the Medical Indemnity First Principles Review. Dr Gannon was also President of AMA WA between 2014 and 2016 and at the same time the Chair of the Federal AMA Ethics & Medicolegal Committee.

Dr Gannon is also a member of the Mutual Board and was elected as its President in November 2020.  Dr Gannon has a long association with MDA National, joining as a medical student, serving as a member of the President’s Medical Liaison Committee, and as a member of MDA National Insurance's Cases Committee (Western/Central) since 2011. Dr Gannon is a member of the MDAN Group's Capital Committee, Nominations and Remuneration Committee and an ex officio member of the Clinical Underwriting Committee.

Dr Gilpin is an Orthopaedic Surgeon in Queensland with a sole focus of practice in upper limb surgery. He was appointed to the MDA National Insurance Board in November 2021. Dr Gilpin is also a director of the Mutual Board.

Dr Gilpin’s appointments with MDA National include Chair of MDA National Insurance’s Clinical Underwriting Committee, past Chair of the Queensland State Advisory Panel (previously the President’s Medical Liaison Council) and he was previously a member of MDAN Group's Audit and Risk Committees (2016-2017) and of the Queensland Advisory Committee (2003-2009).

Dr Gilpin has been in practice for over 30 years, during which time he has been involved in the active promotion of upper limb surgery, having served as both President of the Shoulder and Elbow Society of Australia and more recently on the Board of Hand Surgery. Dr Gilpin is a member of the Australian Orthopaedic Association, the Queensland Shoulder Surgery Society, the Queensland Hand Surgery Society and the Royal College of Surgeons.

Dr Gilpin is also involved in teaching, research and assisting in the ongoing education of both the medical profession and paramedical groups.

Ms O’Driscoll, a non-executive director of MDA National Insurance, was appointed to the Insurance Board on 20 February 2015. She has been a member of the MDAN Group’s Audit Committee and Risk Committee since June 2015, and was appointed Chair of both committees in September 2015.


Ms O’Driscoll is a Fellow of the Institutes of Chartered Accountants in Ireland and Australia and the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance & Finance. She is also a Graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She attended the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School.


Ms O’Driscoll has over 35 years of business experience gained primarily in public accounting practice and insurance companies. She worked on audit and advice for a range of clients in Dublin, London and Sydney, latterly with PricewaterhouseCoopers. She spent over thirteen years with Insurance Australia Group Limited in a range of roles and completed her executive career spending three years as the Chief Financial Officer of Genworth Mortgage Insurance Australia Limited.


Ms O’Driscoll is currently independent Chairman of FINEOS Corporation Holdings Plc. She is also an independent non-executive director of Steadfast Group Limited, Commonwealth Insurance Limited and Infomedia Limited and chairs the Audit Committees for each of these companies. Ms O'Driscoll has also held various other Board roles as both an executive and non-executive director.