Working Groups

State Advisory Committee (SAC)

Dr Matthew Masterson
Dr Brian Morton
Dr Saxon Smith
Dr Boris Waldman
Dr Mark Bonnichsen
Dr Vanessa Leung

Dr Mellissa Naidoo (State Chair)
Dr Anita Sharma
Dr Hashim Abdeen
Dr Bavahuna Manoharan

Dr Andrew Perry (State Chair)
Dr Chloe Furst
Dr Scott Ma
Dr Michelle Emmerson
Dr David Chapman
Dr Hussam Tayeb

Dr David Chong (State Chair)
Dr Marianna Dare
Dr Jurstine Daruwalla
Dr Michael Galvin
Dr Christopher Stokes
Dr Benjamin Veness
Dr Belinda Hibble

Dr Natalie Sumich (State Chair)
Dr James Anderson
Dr Robert Henderson
Dr Chris Lind
Dr Homan Zandi
Dr Andrew Wesseldine
Dr Tom Boosey

Dr Paul McCartney (State Chair)
Dr Alexandra Seidel
Dr Paul McIntyre
Dr David Ransley
Dr Finlea Cusack

The State Advisory Committees (SAC) are a primary source of Member insight, providing integral feedback on local issues and emerging risks across various specialties. Each state SAC comprises local and highly experienced medical practitioners of varying specialties and career stages, recruited for a two-year term.

The SAC:
  • advises us of early warning changes in medical practice and/or surgical procedures which would assist in providing service to our Members and the broader medical community
  • provides operational departments with clinical knowledge to create resources for our Members
  • contributes to the development and delivery of our workshops, presentations and publications
  • assists in research and feedback on marketing and relevant business initiatives
  • participates in medical conferences and activities
  • engages and networks informally with colleagues.

Education Services Advisory Group (ESAG)

The Education Services Advisory Group (ESAG) provides advice on the delivery of educational activities in accordance with MDA National’s strategic plan. The purpose of the ESAG is to:

  • advise on the planning of our education programs each year
  • participate in the development and review of our education activities and resources
  • recommend new strategic directions for our education
  • participate in recruitment, selection and training of our education facilitators.


Non-staff members:

  • Dr Kaye Atkinson
  • Dr Paul Eleftheriou
  • Dr Samari Jayarajah
  • Prof Stephen Trumble
  • Dr Genevieve Yates