Cases Committees

We have two committees providing medical input and advice to assist with the claims management process:

  • Cases Committee (Western/Central) – for claims occurring in South Australia, the Northern Territory and Western Australia.
  • Cases Committee (Eastern) – for claims occurring in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Tasmania, Victoria and Queensland.
Eastern Cases Committee Members
Western Cases Committee Members
Dr Richard Barnett
A/Prof Michael Hollands
A/Prof Frank Martin
Dr Stephen Quain
Dr Nigel Symons
Dr Rod Moore (Chair)
A/Prof Max Baumwol
Dr Fiona Bettenay
A/Prof Rosanna Capolingua
Dr Michael Gannon
Dr Tim Jeffrey
Dr Andrew Miller
A/Prof David Watson
Prof Guy Van Hazel
A/Prof Gerard Hardisty

Clinical Underwriting Committee

This Committee provides advice to management on risk assessment criteria, emerging trends in medicine, policy development, risk categorisation, pricing approach, and high-risk Member management.

Clinical Underwriting Committee non-staff members:

  • Dr Rod Moore (Acting Chair)
  • Dr Reg Bullen
  • Dr David Gilpin
  • Dr Beres Wenck

Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Committee

This Committee upholds MDA National’s responsibilities as a corporate citizen. Through this committee, we aim to:

  • support the mental health of medical practitioners and students
  • ensure doctors are supported in caring for patients with mental health issues
  • promote understanding and compassion within the medical community, starting with our own organisation
  • provide opportunities for MDA National to support a range of approved charitable activities.