Insurance Board

Insurance Board Members Profiles:

Mr Scudamore joined MDA National’s Insurance Board in July 2012 and was appointed Chairman of the Insurance Board on 11 October 2014. He was appointed to the Mutual Board in November 2013. He is a member of MDAN Group’s Audit Committee, Risk Committee and Capital Committee and is Chair of the Nominations & Remuneration Committee.


Mr Scudamore has more than  40 years work experience, 28 of which have been as a partner of KPMG providing advisory services and, earlier in his career, audit services to companies in a variety of industries including energy and natural resources, financial services and government clients.


Mr Scudamore is a Director of Pilbara Minerals, Regis Resources and Australis Oil and Gas. He is also Vice Chair and a Trustee of the Western Australia Museum. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and a Senior Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australia.


Mr Agnew was appointed to the Insurance Board in April 2015. He has been a member of the MDAN Group’s Capital Committee since August 2015and was appointed as the Chair in November 2016. Mr Agnew was the Group CEO of RAC (Western Australia) until March 2019 and was previously Managing Director of SGIC Holdings Ltd, a general insurance and health insurance organisation in South Australia.


Mr Agnew has held a range of executive and board roles with private and public companies, mutual and member organisations, and government and educational organisations. He currently sits on the board of Edge Employment Solutions and RAA Insurance.


Mr Agnew is also Chairman of the Curtin Business School Advisory Council, Chairman of the Business Council of Cooperatives and Mutuals (BCCM) and a founding member of CEO’s for Gender Equity. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management, Senior Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australia (Finsia), member of the Australian Institute of Engineers and an adjunct Professor of Curtin Business School.


Dr Gannon was appointed to the Insurance Board in November 2020. 

Dr Gannon is an Obstetrician & Gynaecologist in private and public practice in Perth. He is Head of Department, Obstetrics & Gynaecology at St John of God Subiaco Hospital.


Dr Gannon also works in the Perinatal Loss Service at King Edward Memorial Hospital (KEMH) and is the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RANZCOG) representative on the WA Perinatal and Infant Mortality Committee. He is interested in medical problems in pregnancy, high risk pregnancy and stillbirth prevention.


Dr Gannon is a member of the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) and the Board of AMA WA.


Dr Gannon graduated from the University of Western Australia, before training at Royal Perth Hospital, KEMH, the Rotunda Hospital Dublin and St Mary’s Hospital London.


Dr Gannon was Federal President of the Australian Medical Association (AMA) from 2016 to 2018, during which time he made direct representations on the Medical Indemnity First Principles Review. Dr Gannon was also President of AMA WA between 2014 and 2016 and at the same time was the Chair of the Federal AMA Ethics & Medicolegal Committee.


Dr Gannon is also a member of the Mutual Board, served as the Mutual Board’s Chair of Finance in 2020 and was elected as its President in November 2020.  Dr Gannon has a long association with MDA National, joining as a medical student, serving as a member of the President’s Medical Liaison Committee, and as a member of MDA National Insurance's Cases Committee (Western/Central) since 2011. Dr Gannon is also a member of the MDAN Group's Capital Committee. 

Dr. Miller is an Anaesthetist in active private practice in Perth. He is a director on both the Mutual Board and the MDA National Insurance Board. He is a member of MDA National Insurance’s Cases (Western/Central) Committee.

He is Vice President and Treasurer of the Australian Society of Anaesthetists, and President of AMA (WA) and a Federal Councillor for the AMA representing Anaesthetists. Dr Miller is also a Fellow and graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Ms O’Driscoll, a non-executive director of MDA National Insurance, was appointed to the Insurance Board on 20 February 2015. She has been a member of the MDAN Group’s Audit Committee and Risk Committee since June 2015, and was appointed Chair of both committees in September 2015.


Ms O’Driscoll is a Fellow of the Institutes of Chartered Accountants in Ireland and Australia and the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance & Finance. She is also a Graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She attended the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School.


Ms O’Driscoll has over 35 years of business experience gained primarily in public accounting practice and insurance companies. She worked on audit and advice for a range of clients in Dublin, London and Sydney, latterly with PricewaterhouseCoopers. She spent over thirteen years with Insurance Australia Group Limited in a range of roles and completed her executive career spending three years as the Chief Financial Officer of Genworth Mortgage Insurance Australia Limited.


Ms O’Driscoll is currently independent Chairman of FINEOS Corporation Holdings Plc. She is also an independent non-executive director of Steadfast Group Limited, Commonwealth Insurance Limited and Infomedia Limited and chairs the Audit Committees for each of these companies. Ms O'Driscoll has also held various other Board roles as both an executive and non-executive director.