Are you confident you and your practice comply with AHPRA’s advertising guidelines?

Responsibly promoting your health services helps people make well-informed choices. Breaching advertising requirements is a criminal offence that may result in financial penalties and disciplinary action.

Join Risk Adviser, Gae Nuttall and Medico-legal Adviser, Nerissa Ferrie for a live webinar where you’ll find out how to avoid common medical advertising errors.

This practical,
complimentary online session is for practice-based MDA National Members and Practice Indemnity Policyholders. It’s an opportunity to learn from others' marketing missteps and ask our medico-legal experts your questions.

Wednesday 27 March 2019
6.00pm–6.45pm (AWST)*

* The 45-minute webinar starts at 7.30pm ACST/ 8.00pm AEST/
8.30pm ACDT/ 9.00pm AEDT

Register now

Places are limited. Secure yours today.

A participation certificate and further useful resources will be sent to attendees after the webinar.

Already have an advertising question? Submit it here in advance to increase the chance of it being answered.


Learning outcomes
By the end of this session participants should be able to:

  •  describe at least two common mistakes healthcare providers make in their marketing that constitute advertising breaches
  •  explain why testimonials cannot be used in marketing a regulated health service
  •  identify at least three regulatory bodies whose advertising requirements must be complied with by the health sector.


Meet your presenters

Gae Nuttall

Gae Nuttall
Gae is a Risk Adviser at MDA National. She provides Members with practical risk management advice, identifying risks that could lead to claims or complaints, developing practical strategies to reduce those risks, and supporting Members’ practices to provide safe and appropriate patient care. Gae’s professional interests include medico-legal education, practice management and accreditation systems. She believes that implementing good practice systems minimises risk to both doctors and their practice staff, while delivering quality health care. 

Nerissa Ferrie

Nerissa Ferrie – moderator
Nerissa has been with MDA National since 2008, taking on the role of Medico-legal Adviser in 2010. She provides advice to Members and helps Claims Managers handle claims and complaints. Nerissa’s professional interests include investigations involving the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency, the Health and Disability Services Complaints Office, and the Coroner’s office. Nerissa has been published in internal and external publications, and is currently the sub-editor of MDA National’s Defence Update.